All The Single Ladies!

Published February 13, 2014 by bossymoksie

It’s hereeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Valentine’s Day returns!

I just wanted to say that contrary to the tired cliche, I actually like being single on Valentine’s Day. Don’t get me wrong, having a date or a boyfriend is great too. But when I’m single, I like to treat Valentine’s Day just like any other holiday or weekend, an excuse to partay!

There’s no expectation and hype about what the guy is gonna do and incessant questions from friends about what I’m doing I mean get your own life!, followed by the mild disappointment when the plans are pretty much like any other awesome date except with flowers. For me, it’s really not that serious, not nearly serious enough to see Valentine’s themed chocolate and balloons in the stores since January. But I guess people need to be given stuff to look forward to, unlike me where any day I don’t have to work is a cause for celebration.

But there is just one hitch that tries to rain on my single Valentine’s party time parade.

Other single ladies.

Because most single ladies choose this day to throw the biggest forever alone pity party, hence perpetrating the cliche forever alone jokes.

happy valentines day

The black hole where the minds of singles go. Don’t take me with you!

I know, I know, everywhere you turn there’s a Valentine’s Day commercial of smiling women getting jewelry and flowers and hugs, from their GQ boyfriends or husbands. Yeah, yeah yeah, everyone else is in a blissful relationship except for you and you’re gonna drown yourself (and your fun loving friend!) in that misery today. You dwell on what you don’t have and what you’re not getting this year. Which you conclude means that you’ll die alone. And that’s all you want to complain about all day. Sober or drunk.

forever alone ben and jerrys

You do know that you have more choices than this.

Stop it. Just stop.

I’m just here to say, it doesn’t have to go down that way. First some perspective. All those commercials and pink and red themed candies and gifts at the store is just to get peoples money. Don’t use their presence to torture yourself. Also, everyone who is in a relationship isn’t in a blissful, happy one. Be grateful that you’re not in a shitty relationship, which would guarantee an even shittier Valentine’s day. Promise.

Celebrate that you are alive and healthy, that you have friends willing to hang out with you today and have some fun that you hopefully won’t ruin with your self pity. There’s always a bright side and I suggest you focus on that. It’ll be better for you. But more importantly, better for me. Please don’t make me wish I was back at work.

happy valentines day

I love spending valentine’s with the person I love most. Me!

valentines day

Who doesn’t love a good sale?

HAPPY VALENTINES’ DAY!

12 comments on “All The Single Ladies!

  • I fully intend to spend tomorrow evening with my XBox 360, bottle of beer and maybe some chocolate that I will buy for myself. Either that or I’ll watch a very blokey film.

    Oh, I actually got a card this year – sort of kills it when you know who it is from though!

  • This year I just made dinner at home and we just hung out. I also bought a card haha. Anything more would just be simp peer pressure and I can’t deal with that. I always say that if your girl is expecting a big v-day, you should charge her. That’s not realistic.

    When I was single, I would hit up the bars on valentines and have great success. A lot of single women who were looking to have fun. A lot of guys think women will be home eating ice cream and looking on Instagram but they’re actually out having a good time.

  • Leave a Reply

