“The Apology”: Review of a Bloggers’ Book

Published December 20, 2013 by bossymoksie

There are two types of blogs I read.

One are dating blogs: PUA (or pick-up artists), women dating, and men dating.

The second are what I call the ranters: These are people who go on hilarious, and often brilliant rants about whatever subject they feel worthy.

And one of those is Essa On Everything.

Essa also writes books, and had one on SmashwordsΒ for free so I decided to check it out. It’s a novelette called “The Apology”. It’s fifty-six pages and a short read. She mentioned that it was free because it was not her best.

The set up is a woman who witnesses her crime lord husband murdering someone, then runs away with a former high school crush who coincidentally showed up to apologize to her for humiliating her before prom in high school, in order to clear his karma and bad luck he’s endured since the incident. It’s short, it’s sweet, it’s to the point (unlike my previous sentence).

What I will say about the book is that it keeps you wondering what will happen next. Which makes the book an even quicker and fun read.Β I also like how it brings you into a different world and introduces you to subjects you normally would not be introduced to in your regular club-hopping, gossiping, blogging, hair-pampering life. Like animal smuggling. Or Florida.

Sal, a supporting character, (and the lead in her other three books) is very interesting and entertaining. It’s a great intro to her character because I wanted to know more about her and spend more time with her.

The one thing I didn’t like was that the train of thought of the two leads didn’t always add up. I just couldn’t buy some of their thoughts, and the actions that followed those thoughts. It only happened a few times though. This is coming from the person who yells at the movie screen and TV when the characters do something I think is stupid, or not what I wanted them to do. Which is most of the time. And yeah, I know it’s fiction and that the characters can’t hear me. I don’t care, I’m gonna speak up anyway!

That didn’t take away from the adventure and drama (and action!) in the book and at least I cared about the characters and what happens to them.

Here’s where you can get it. It’s a good beach read, or airplane read, or waiting-in-line book, and you’ll probably finish it in one sitting.Β 

14 comments on ““The Apology”: Review of a Bloggers’ Book

    • I disagree entirely. I am no more than average on a standard intelligence scale. It is my ability to get deeply angry over incredibility insignificant things that makes me special. πŸ™‚ I’m kinda like a way hotter Lewis Black.

      And thank you for your compliments. Its nice to have someone besides me doing them for a change. πŸ˜‰

      • Keep in mind the “standard intelligence” scale I use is subject to interpretation, so when measured this way, we are both like the Stephen Hawkins of commentary β€” And yes, definitely way hotter πŸ˜‰

  • Leave a Reply

