Ask a Bitch!

Published January 27, 2013 by bossymoksie

Where I answer your questions about love, dating and tricky relationship situations (questions in bold):

I was on a second date with a girl I like. We went to have coffee because we didn’t want to go home and we sat outside. She was shivering so I offered her my jacket. She said no at first but eventually accepted my jacket. She asked me to hold her purse while she put it on and I told her no. She was surprised and asked if I was into machismo. I’m not I just think holding a girl’s purse is emasculating. She’s not my wife or anything. We talked about it (because she was so upset about it) and she admitted that she was more upset that I told her no more than anything. I helped her put my jacket on while she held her own purse. Was I being rude or was I standing up for my manhood?

man holds purse

I feel pretty?

A  little of both.  I guess we all have our boundaries that need to be set early on in a relationship no matter how petty. It’s good that you stuck to what’s comfortable for you. But this was more of a logistical favor rather than putting your balls in a blender. Now, if she had asked you to hold her purse while walking two feet behind her and her friends as they shopped, then that would be another story. In the end, if you landed a third date with her, then it doesn’t matter, does it?

If you want my bitchy advice, please ask away in the comments section or email me at bossymoksie@gmail.com. I will answer in a future blog post.

If you don’t want my bitchy advice, you might get it anyway.

8 comments on “Ask a Bitch!

    • He did over react imo. But I think it’s better to follow your own boundaries than do something you’re uncomfortable with because you’re afraid of scaring off your date. Maybe he senses he went overboard and that’s why he asked? He also didn’t close the deal that night. There is a third date though.

  • This is kind of ridiculous. She asked him to hold it because evolution didn’t bless her with a third arm. If that’s been me, I’d have held it and probably make a joke like “here have it back, I don’t think it’s my colour”

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 474 other followers

